Thursday, February 28, 2008

Survey Says: Bronx Biggest Sports Event Destination in '08!

For those of you who have not heard of TSE Sports & Entertainment, let me start out with a few words about them. Each year, TSE runs what they call the "Tuchman Sports Event Index", which "measures corporate interest in travel to major sporting events in the U.S." Based on Corporate America's overall demand to attend the biggest events in sports, TSE is able to generate a list of the most sought after events each year. Why is Corporate America important here? Well its no secret that a great way to secure a potential client or seal an important account is to send tickets to the biggest events. With the amount of money riding on making the right impression, Corporate America has no choice but to keep it's finger on the pulse of the sporting world. So, when TSE's annual survey is printed, its usually an accurate reflection of what will be hot in the upcoming year. If you are still unclear on what this list may look like, please visit the TSE website and check it out.

In recent years, there appears to be some consistency when it comes to popular sporting events. The Masters (look out for Tiger this year), the Super Bowl, and the NCAA Final Four always show up when this survey is complete. Now while that may come as no surprise, MLB events do not get quite as much love. In fact, the World Series isn't even in the top ten this year, and wasn't in the top ten in '07. I don't know about you, but I think that says a lot about our national pastime. (While you may be thinking that people are sick of juiced-up ballplayers etc, I'll maintain that the reason no one wants to go to the WS is because of Boston's projection to win it all the last two years.)

Anyway, 2008 has somewhat of a surprise at the top of the list. Events like the Olympics and the World Cup, that are not played every year, tend to rise to the top of TSE's survey when they come around. However, the Beijing Summer Olympics have had no such luck. Instead, they have finished second to the MLB All-Star game. For those of us who have forgotten where this event will be held in 2008, let me remind you that its in The House that Ruth Built. This tremendously historic venue is, without question, the reason for the jump in TSE's rankings. Who wouldn't want to see the final All-Star game in Yankee Stadium history? For me, I'm excited to see the game, but I'm more excited to see the Home Run Derby... think Prince Fielder or Ryan Howard can hit the Courthouse?

Let me wrap this up by giving everyone something interesting to think about. When Boston won the W.S. in '07 (what a sad time that was) a close friend pointed something out to me that was very troublesome. Picture this... in 2008, Joe Torre will manage zero games in the home dugout of Yankee Stadium. Terry Francona will manage one. I can't wait for him to hear it from the New Yorkers every time he walks to the mound. I can think of no better way to stick it to Terry than to let him manage for Yankee home field advantage in October, but let's not get ahead of ourselves just yet. No matter what, one thing is for sure. The 2008 All-Star game in Yankee Stadium will be electric, and TSE's survey indicates that Corporate America agrees.

Monday, February 25, 2008

Get Your Yankee Stuff Before the '08 Season!

Be sure to represent the Yankees in style this season with all the latest and greatest NYY merchandise! Stock up on your favorite players jerseys to show your true colors, or buy your favorite Yankees collectible products.

Get anything and everything Bombers at the NY Yankees Shop online! Hurry, the 2008 season is just around the corner!

For an extensive list of articles relating to products above and beyond the New York Yankees, please visit : http://www.dentalplans.com/dental-health-articles/Category.asp?CatID=12

Friday, February 22, 2008

Results Are In!

Hey readers, hope everyone out there is staying safe in all this snow! I would like to thank all of you who voted in my most recent poll. I appreciate the consideration on the topic.

I don't know about everyone else, but I thought the Yankees need for middle relief last season was a blessing in disguise. Joba was touted as one of the next great starting pitchers for the Yanks, but lack of pitching in the bullpen forced him to change roles. This change was supposed to be temporary, but the rising star excelled in middle/late relief. He was phenomenal in the set-up spot for Mariano... I even dare to say he looked like Mo himself. Not physically of course, Joba looks more like I do than he does Rivera. But let's not forget that Mo auditioned as the set-up man before becoming the closer, perhaps the same way Joba has... just something to think about.

Now, before we get ahead of ourselves, understand that this theory all depends on Mariano. He will be the closer for this team as long as he can pitch. If Mariano plans on pitching another 2-3 seasons, then Joba will have to move back to his original destination in the rotation. I love Joba out of the pen, and I think he'd make one hell of a closer, but Joba is far too talented to keep as a set-up man for too long. Once he hits full stride in the bigs, the Yankees have two choices... starter or closer. Anywhere else is much too unimportant for an arm of Joba's caliber.

Moving on to the poll question. When the Yankees revealed that Joba would be starting the season out of the pen, I had mixed emotions. Part of me was disappointed that we won't get to see Joba as a starter just yet. The other part of me believes that Joba belongs in the bullpen for now. The Yanks have a pretty solid rotation as is (talented enough to win 90+ games in my opinion). They also have a monster advantage over just about any team when it comes to late relief. The Joba/Mo combination usually slams the door shut in the 7th... I don't know of any other team that can say they have relief like that. My point here is that for now, the Yankees might be better off as a team with Joba being a set-up man for Mo. It appears as though the majority of you out there feel the same way, with "reliever" receiving 78% of the votes.

Thanks again to everyone who voted! Keep tuning in, new poll coming soon!

Sunday, February 17, 2008

Let's Settle It! Better Baseball Player: Jeter vs. Reyes

Hello again readers, and welcome to this special edition post! Recently, it has come to my attention that there are people out there (particularly Mets fans) that truly believe that Jose Reyes is a better baseball player than Derek Jeter. Not only do people believe this, but they will argue it to the death. I contend that if Jose Reyes did not play for the Mets, (cross-town rival of the Yankees) that this argument would have never even been thought of. Can anyone honestly tell me that people would argue Reyes is better if he were playing SS for the Cincinnati Reds?

Answer: No. I believe that this argument is just a way for Mets fans to attempt to bring down the Yankees and their fans, as well as all the glory involved with loving the Bombers. It has nothing to do with shortstops, its quite simply Mets faithful finally having a great player and feeling the need to compare him to the best. The Mets fans that I have come across in my life (and that's quite a few seeing as I'm from NY) have always had some sort of complex about this rivalry. When Yankee fans think about an upcoming season, they wonder whether or not they'll get a parade when it's all said and done. Mets fans wonder if they'll beat the Yankees in inter-league play. Now keep in mind I'm making generalizations about Mets fans. There are some out there that actually know the game and take it for what it's worth, all bias aside. For those Met lovers, I can say they are true baseball fans. For the majority of them, however, Mets fans prove why their not the best baseball fans when they dream up comparisons like this.

Let's move on to the arguments I've heard about why Jose Reyes is better, shall we? First and foremost; Reyes has so much more speed than Jeter. Yes, you're right, Jose Reyes is one of the fastest baseball players I've ever seen. He can have 60 steals in his sleep. But does that mean we should call Ricky Henderson the best player to ever live? Of course not! Ricky has the most steals of all-time... unfortunately, this does not make him the best player of all time. I think we can all agree that speed is a vital part of being a great baseball player, but let's not kid ourselves. Hall of Fame voters don't just turn to the stolen base category to decide who gets in. There is so much more to a great baseball player than speed. Oh, and not to mention, Derek Jeter is not slow! In fact, he's pretty fast! I would say Jeter has above average speed, swiping anywhere from 15-30 bags in a season, only getting thrown out a handful of times. Jeter is also well-known for being very heads up when it comes to running the bases, making up for any speed he might give up to Reyes.

The second most popular reason for why Reyes is better than Jeter also deals with speed... imagine that. Anyone reading this who feels that Jose Reyes having more triples makes him a better ballplayer, please stop reading here. Triples are not that important in the grand scheme of things. If that were the case, then Curtis Granderson would have to be added to this discussion. Let's be serious, CG has no business being compared to the Yankee Captain, and quite frankly, I don't think Reyes does either. I will give credit where credit is due... I want to be fair to Reyes here. He's an electrifying player with great speed and a great arm. He plays solid D for the most part and is a great lead-off guy. I'll give him all that, its the truth, no doubt about it... but I won't call him a better player than Jeter. I think that's enough about my views on this though for now, let's just go to the facts. I've tried convincing everyone, now I'll just convey the evidence.

We'll start by looking at their 2007 stats, then go over career numbers. I promise, after reading these numbers, you'll have no choice but to face it... Derek Jeter is a better baseball player than Jose Reyes.

2007 Season Stats: JOSE REYES

SPLIT

G

AB

R

H

2B

3B

HR

RBI

SB

BA

OBP

SLG

Season

160

681

119

191

36

12

12

57

78

.280

.354

.421

Career

596

2518

420

715

118

52

45

242

234

.284

.330

.426

DJ's 1st 5: R 600 H 996 2B 149 3B 34 HR 78 RBI 407 SB 108 BA .322 OPB .395 SLG .865

2007 Season Stats: Derek Jeter

SPLIT

G

AB

R

H

2B

3B

HR

RBI

SB

BA

OBP

SLG

Season

156

639

102

206

39

4

12

73

15

.322

.388

.452

Career

1835

7429

1379

2356

386

54

195

933

264

.317

.388

.462



Here it is folks! The brass tax... numbers can't lie, they don't know how. With these numbers, brought to us by http://espn.go.com/, it's clear that Jeter has the better numbers. In 2007, Jeter dominated the numbers comparison in offense. With the 2007 comparison out there in the open, lets discuss careers. Now Jeter has played 13 seasons to Reyes' 5, so we'll only compare through 5 years. For easy comparison, I've put the totals for Jeter right under the career line of Reyes. The numbers are there... take a look. Jeter through 5 years had a better offensive career by the numbers. In case any of you Mets fans out there are now turning to the, "Reyes is a better defensive SS than Jeter" I would like to point out that they have an identical fielding percentage at .975. Additionally, Derek Jeter has won 3 A.L. Gold Gloves at SS ('04, '05, '06). To my knowledge, Reyes can claim zero Gold Glove awards. On top of all that statistical evidence, Derek Jeter has 4 World Championship Rings, and a World Series MVP award.

That MVP in the World Series was in 2000... if you're a Met fan, you know all too well how great Jeter is in the clutch. This award brings me to my next, and perhaps the most important point I have on this topic. Jeter is one of, if not the best clutch performer in baseball/sports history. I understand that this is a bold claim, but I would put Jeter on the same plain as the great Michael Jordan. I think it's at least safe to say that there is no one Boston wants at the plate less in a big situation than the Captain... I would consider that the highest of compliments. Derek Jeter has something that can never be measured on paper like a batting average... intangibles. This is where he separates himself from everyone else in baseball, including Jose Reyes.

Not only is Derek Jeter the better player when it comes to the numbers, but he has something that can't be taught, and can't be learned. He has one of the best baseball mind's in the history of the game. He's a leader, a champion, and he's the most heads-up, clutch performer of his generation. There is no comparison here... Derek Jeter is a better baseball player than Jose Reyes.

Wednesday, February 13, 2008

Results Are In!

I would like to thank everyone who took a moment to participate in my most recent poll! The question was simply, "Which Joe will have a better first season?" This was in reference to former Yankees' manager Joe Torre, who recently took over the helm for the Dodgers, and of course, new Yankees' manager Joe Girardi.

I believe that the Yankees are a better team than the Dodgers so its hard to say Torre will have the better season. On the other hand, however, the Yankees play in a much more talented division, in the tougher league. Not to mention all the scrutiny that will hang over Girardi and the Yankees if everything doesn't go well out of the gate.

The results are in, the blog readers have spoken! It appears that the majority (and a very slight majority) of you that voted agree with me and feel that Joe G. will have a better first season than Joe T. Thanks for voting, thanks for reading, and keep an eye out for the new poll!

Sunday, February 10, 2008

Mets vs. Mariners: Which Team Will Have A Bigger Impact In '08?

Hello again readers, and welcome to my latest post!

It's been a very interesting offseason since October's disappointing finale. Usually, the offseason turns into an arms race between the Yankees and the Red Sox. However, baseball's "Cold War," if you will, has been surprisingly uneventful. A few signings here and there for non-impact players by both teams but nothing much beyond that. It appeared for a while as if one of the two would land lefty-ace Johan Santana, but neither team could strike a deal. These two A.L. East rivals seem to be happy with what they've got, leaving the door wide open for other teams to make big moves.

Aside from maybe the Detroit Tigers, who acquired P Dontrelle Willis and 3B Miguel Cabrera from FLA, the two biggest winners this offseason have been the Yankees' cross-town rival New York Mets, and Seattle Mariners. The Mets made one of the biggest deals in recent memory, snagging 2-time Cy Young Award winner, Johan Santana in exchange for what amounts to be their entire minor league system. I for one believe the Mets made a great deal. In a much more quiet deal, the Seattle Mariners added a young, dominant lefty ace of their own in Erik Bedard. In order to get him, the Mariners had to give up a load of minor league talent just like the Mets (moral of the story here: the Yankees have always had it right - winning has a price). On a very interesting side note, these two lefties pitched against each other on opening day of 2007. Any way you look at this offseason, the Mets and Mariners have set themselves up for a very promising '08.

But the question still remains; which team will have the bigger impact? In 2008, I think the Mets will have a bigger impact than the Mariners. Playing in the weak-hitting National League is advantage number one. Johan Santana has built his career by dominating the power-packed lineups in the A.L for years. There is no reason to believe that Santana's numbers will do anything but improve (I know, a very scary thought). In my estimation, the Mets are now in position to be the best team in the N.L. Falling very short of their expectations in '07, the Mets have reloaded, and reloaded big time. I challenge any team in the N.L to stop them from getting to the World Series in '08.

That being said, I still believe that the Mariners will have a big impact this season. I just don't see them being a contender for the A.L. pennant... yet. Seattle now has one of the premier pitching rotations in all of baseball, but they are a little young, and for the most part a little inexperienced. But, there is potential Seattle's new look pitching staff, led by Bedard to have a monster season. Bedard, King Felix, and Jarrod Washburn provide a very solid core. If Felix Hernandez can come of age, with Bedard and Washburn providing the consistency every pitching staff needs, not mention one of the game's better closers in J.J. Putz, its safe to say that the 2008 Seattle Mariners are the front-runner for the A.L. West crown. For now, I figure the M's will show signs of how good they'll be in the future, maybe even win their division, but I don't see them making a splash as large as the Mets this season.

So... what does this all mean in the world of the New York Yankees? Well there are a lot of things to consider here. First things first... the major fire power that has moved this offseason is not in the A.L. East. Santana could have easily joined forces with Boston, a nightmare I'm glad didn't come true. The way I see it, the Yankees are now better off. Not having to face Erik Bedard as often is a big plus. As far as the playoffs go, everyone knows that one or two losses can decide everything. The Yanks are set to play the Orioles 19 times in 2008's regular season, and I sure am glad Erik Bedard won't be starting any of those games. The lack of these two ace left-handers in the A.L. east is nothing but a positive for the Bombers. With all the moves that have gone on this offseason, 2008 should be a great season... let's just hope the Yankees close the House that Ruth Built in style.

For more big news and baseball transaction updates please check out http://sports.espn.go.com/mlb/index

Wednesday, February 6, 2008

Yankees Products

Products are among the most important elements of today's society. Products are everywhere... you can see them being advertised on television, you can read about them in magazines, you can listen to commercials about them on the radio, and you can find any product in the world on the internet. Let's face it... products are everywhere.

In my time being old enough to appreciate products, I have come across both good and bad products. I really enjoy the satisfaction I get from good products, and no one has better products that the New York Yankees. The Yankees have a countless supply of memorabilia and merchandise, and their fans support these products proudly (especially this fan).

Check out all of your New York Yankees' products @ the Yankees Store Online!

To learn more about products, please read this great article about the effectiveness of products in marketing: Products Article

The Super Bowl - What It Meant For Sports

Hello again readers, and thank you for coming back for more!

Well, what a week of sports it has been. Let me start first by saying "YYYAAAAAAAAHHH!!!" There, its out of my system... until tomorrow. This scream of joy is for the magnificent victory of the New York Football GIANTS in the Super Bowl! For those of you wondering why a blog devoted to the Yankees is starting off with a celebration for the Giants... I assure you, its relevant. First off, the Super Bowl was far and away the biggest event that happened in the past week of sports (as made clear by it being the most-viewed Bowl of all-time), and second of all this was not just a football game... for me, this was NY putting it's foot down and putting a very sudden halt to New England's domination of pro sports.

I believe that the courageous, gutsy, hard-fought, inspiring, heart-filled, emotional effort put fourth by the G-Men is exactly what everyone needed to see. A breath of fresh air for all of sports. In 2007, the Red Sox won the World Series, the Celtics acquired Kevin Garnett and Ray Allen, and the Patriots completed an undefeated regular season. All systems go for New England... right?? That was then - this is now. The new year has proven one thing, that 2007 is over and done with, and for this blogger, hopefully it will end the reign of New England's supremacy in sports. So far, NY is off to a great start... crumbling perhaps the strongest link in the chain. The mighty Patriots have fallen, as have the hopes for a perfect championship season, and the arrogance of a region. It is no secret that the New England area is proud of their teams, but the recent success of 2007 had brought on this tremendously pompous attitude. One where a professional NE sports team was going to win, no matter what, no questions asked.

This attitude was torn apart, quickly bringing around the old emotions of NE sports fans once again: depression, confusion, and misery. This was a spitting image of those days when everything looked so promising, but always ended in disaster. Quite frankly, this was a change in the tide... and this is where the Super Bowl relates to the Yankees.

Being the die-hard Yankee fan that I am, I could never admit this truth... until now. I not only felt the swagger of NE's teams, but realized that their confidence was truly intimidating many teams in the NFL, MLB, and NBA. I have played my fair share of sports in my life, and I know that confidence is one monster competitive edge when it comes to athletics. The team that isn't afraid to do something great, usually ends up on top. Finally, NY is back to being the area that isn't afraid to do something great! It isn't just about the Giants, its what the Giants' victory over the Patriots signified... we won't be pushed around any longer. Sooner or later everything must come to an end. For NY and the rest of sports, NE's dominance is what needed to end. Thankfully, the Giants were there to end it sooner rather than later. Just as NE seemed to build confidence as a region, NY has now not only eliminated their confidence, but has re-established our own. I obviously can't say for sure that the Yankees will return to their winning ways in '08, but I can say for sure, that the momentum that has now completely shifted to NY's corner will carry over into the Bronx.

For those of you readers familiar with the Will Smith movie, "Independence Day", I would like to provide an analogy for you. NE's professional sports teams had suddenly positioned itself over the rest of the sports world. NE had become the dark cloud cast by the gigantic alien ship. Seemingly no one under the shadow could come up with a solution... no one could come up with the right plan to stop these teams. Time went on and the teams got stronger, shooting down doubters and beating down anyone who got in their way. It was approaching the final hour... The aliens were about to crush the final tactics of the human race, and the Patriots (and the NE region) were about to become the greatest team of all time. With the perfect football team, the World Champions of Baseball, and one of the best 3-man teams basketball has ever seen... there would be no turning back. And right on the brink of the unthinkable disaster... the saving grace emerges. With the U.S. military out of missiles in their last battle, and all of the pressure of the entire sports world squarely on the shoulders of the Giants (of all teams), it looked very grim. But out of nowhere, "Russell Casse" (played by Randy Quaid) and Eli Manning save the day! I apologize if you haven't seen the movie, but try to imagine it. Within moments of complete failure, the Giants and the world triumph... the massive dark cloud falls from the sky.

A little dramatic I know... but hey, so was the Giants game-winning drive! This is a new year, but it has brought back an old friend of New York... a championship! With this championship comes a surge of momentum, and a return to a winning attitude. 'Bout time.


Thank you for reading, and remember to comment. I know you can't read this and not have something to say to me. Disagree, agree, love me, hate me... let me have it. I want to hear what you think.

For those of you who have not seen "Independence Day", I highly recommend it. A story that is truly as inspiring as the Giants themselves. Read reviews, the synopsis and check out the cast @ http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0116629/.