Hello again readers and welcome to my latest post! Well,there was big news last week, as Major League Baseball's 2008 season officially began for every team. This includes the New York Yankees, of course, who began their 2008 season with an average opening week. When I say average, please understand that this means I am very disappointed.
Sporting a mediocre 3-3 record, the Yanks are already facing serious questions. Questions that should not be arising this early in the season. If you've been watching the games, you've seen Joba and Mariano do their jobs, and do them well I might add. Last season, and now in the opening week of this season, the end of the bullpen seems to be a great advantage for the Yankees. That being said, the bullpen on the whole has been pretty good. There are, however, two members of the Yankee bullpen that seem to trying to bring down the efforts of the rest of relief pitchers. These two men are none other than LaTroy Hawkins and Kyle Farnsworth. Both men have had significant success in the bullpen in their careers with other clubs, but are simply not cutting it for the Yanks.
The rest of the bullpen seems to have their head on straight. My hope is that the Yankees organization and coaching staff realizes that these two men need to be in as few games as possible before its too late. I know it was only the first week, but how losses are losses, and they start adding up from day one. How many more games will we let slip away trying to let Kyle and LaTroy work everything out?? My hope is that the answer to this question is zero. If we keep letting games fall through the cracks now (and games we should be winning!), we will be sorry later on.
On a side note, LaTroy Hawkins needs to change his number. If you haven't noticed, he wears number 21. The same 21 that belonged to Yankee great Paul O'Neill. I for one am embarrassed by the fact that O'Neill never had his number retired, and that a washed up middle relief guy who can't get anyone out now wears his jersey. Hopefully this situation will work itself out soon, i.e. O'Neill physically removes the jersey from Hawkins, or Hawkins gets sent to Scranton... both would be fine by me. Either way, LaTroy Hawkins should not be wearing number 21, period.
PS. Anyone who can tell me the definition of the term VQUZESHUF will be forever respected.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)


7 comments:
Whoops, I commented on the wrong article. Check out the last article for my rumblings
I'm glad that tonight:
- Moose decided to earn his money
- The Yankees offense woke up a little bit
Yeah it was nice to see some hitting, not nice to see Jeter leave the game. Yanks are currently losing to the royals in the 7th... pathetic. I don't care how good the royals are, I won't be satisfied with not beating them.
I'm sorry to say that this yankees team is completely pedestrian. Slightly below mediocre hitting and bench, coupled with aging vets with nagging injuries, young/erratic starters and an uneven bullpen typically amounts to about 80 wins and October tee-times.
At this rate, the most important game played in the final season of the house that ruth built will be the all star game. Unfortunately for us, it will not feature any Yankees.
Did i forget to mention a handful of managerial blunders... how about Giambi's average hovering at about .075... or the fact that Harlan Chamberlain's poor health just put Joba on indefinitely inactive list... then there's our outfield, which despite some flashes from melky typically features a tourist: Matsui (because he needs a map to find the friggin' ball out there) and Carl Invisible Pavano's long lost brother, Johnny Damon, who I swear has been on the payroll for 3 years but has done less than absolutely nothing for us.
I dont ever really have much to say on your blog because i dont really like the yankees. I want to know however what you think of the guy who burried the ortiz jersey in the new stadium and what do you think should be done to him?
Rich, I couldn't agree more with what you said. We need to snap out of it, and snap out of it in a hurry if we want to make a run at anything this season.
Ryan, stay tuned, I'll post about the jersey incident tonight (Tuesday).
Post a Comment