Thursday, April 17, 2008

Results are In!

Hello again readers, and welcome to my latest post! I had asked everyone to vote on what they thought the fate of the Detroit Tigers would be in 2008. This question arose after the highly touted Tigers got off to one of their slowest starts in team history. Not only was their pitching mediocre, their hitting was almost non-existent, and they couldn't win a game in the opening week of the season.

On paper, the Tigers were supposed to be a powerhouse in the A.L, so their horrible start came as quite a surprise... but not to me. When Detroit traded for Miguel Cabrera and Dontrelle Willis, a lot of people began to panic, believing that this would raise the Tigers to a level that could bring them to the promise land. This trade created a tremendous buzz around the team, but I still didn't quite see a WS front runner in Detroit. It's no secret that I think the D-Train is completely overrated, so the question still loomed of who else other than Verlander was going to pitch for them? Kenny Rogers and Jeremy Bonderman don't exactly paint the World Series portrait for me. Also, the loaded lineup that Detroit should not have scared everyone. Yes, Miguel Cabrera is great young hitter, but that doesn't mean anything when I-Rod and Guillen are borderline washed up. If you're wondering why I'm not bringing up Magglio, it's because he almost has to have a season worse than last years. An outbreak in hitting for usually consistent hitter occurred for Ordonez in 2007. Sad thing here is that this is during the steroids era, and Mags is named in Canseco's new book. I'm not saying Magglio is a cheater, (you still can't trust Jose) but I think the controversy will affect him. Only time will tell.

So the start of the Tigers' season could not have been any better for my point, as for a time it didn't even look like they were going to win a game. Since then, they have almost been no-hit, and were shutout for an entire 3 game series!

These facts made it very easy to predict the results of the poll. It appears that almost all of you out there believe that the Tigers will miss the playoffs. I don't blame you for voting "No". With the Indians, and now the resurgent White Sox in their division, the Tigers will need to make a drastic turn-around, and fast. Before long, the Tigers might find themselves on the outside looking in.

Also, has anyone found the definition of VQUZESHUF yet? I apologize to anyone not wanting to be involved with this topic, but this is for class.

3 comments:

Unknown said...

eYou are neglecting us. Everday you say to check the blog and everday for the last week it's been the same thing. You've missed a "hank speaks" and allowed the Joba controversy to go unheard.

I want to rant about our general manager's decision to let chad moeller go in the shadow of Posada's trip to the DL. I also want to destroy Yankees management for signing the guy to a retarded 4 year deal this past offseason, knowing full well that a 34 year old catcher IS GOING TO BREAK down.

But I can't do that, because you won't post....

Anonymous said...

Have you seen this Yankee roll call?

http://www.collegehumor.com/video:1813649

Crissy1121 said...

soo i was just reading your blogs and i notice you keep asking about the definition to the word vquzeshuf..well the name pretty much speaks for itself! It describes every feeling! haha does this help you out?